> All news


The awards ceremony for the Motorsport Ireland Irish Karting Championships took place at the Midlands Hotel, Portlaoise on Saturday night last.The awards, sponsored by the Kilmallock based Senator Engineering group, were presented by Cork’s Kevin Coleman, chairperson of the Motorsport Ireland Kart Committee.The category winners were: Gary Edwards (Iame x30 Senior) from Cork: Karl O’Brien (Iame X30 Junior) from Kildare; Alex O’Grady (Cadets) from Galway; Robbie Buckley (Novice Cadets) from Laois; Tadhg Buckley (Mini Karts Iame) from Kildare; Ben Smith (Mini Cadets Comer) from Northern Ireland; Thomas McCann (Rotax Max) from Meath and Gary Turkington (X30 Masters) from Northern Ireland.

During the evening, the club awards Irish Karting Club, the Southern Kart Club and the Munster Karting Club were also presented respectively by – Martin Hillary, Des Sherlock and Shane Daly.Cork’s Owen Buckley was presented with the Munster Karting Club Person of the Year award, Owen is also the Motorsport Ireland Karting Championship registrar.Trevor Gray, a member of the Motorsport Ireland Commission, addressed the attendance and spoke about the latest changes, the removal of the licence levy while Kieran Coleman stated that Cadets will feature in next year’s World Finals.

MI Karting Championships Awards

Pictured (front, left to right): Tadhg Buckley (Mini Karts Iame) and Robbie Buckley (Novice Cadets). Back (left to right): Ben Smith (Mini Cadets Comer); Gary Edwards (Iame x30 Senior): Karl O’Brien (Iame X30 Junior); Thomas McCann ((Rotax Max); Alex O’Grady (Cadets). Missing from photo is Gary Turkington (X30 Masters). Picture: Martin Walsh.

Keep up with Motorsport Ireland News

Calendar Of Events

Upcoming Fixtures