FIA Rally Cars Pyramid: What You Need to Know


Last year saw the introduction of a new FIA Rally Car Pyramid designed to structure the market, adapt Rally car categories to automobile industry changes, and above all, to respond to the demands of competitors. A handy guide has been created to keep you up-to date with what’s what, when it comes to different rally car classes.

Download the FIA Rally Cars Pyramid Guide

Designed by FIA Rally Director Yves Matton with the idea of simplifying the car classes used in both national and worldwide rallying, the pyramid is set to play a pivotal role in the sport over the coming years.

Rally 1: The top group is reserved for WRC or World Rally Cars (also called RC1 in the previous season). The cars are based on the 2017 specifications and are fitted with an all-wheel-drive with active centre differential and a six-speed sequential gearbox with wheel-mounted paddle shifters. Their 1.6-litre turbocharged engine offers 380HP and a maximum torque of approximately 450 Nm.

Rally 2: The second group includes last year’s RC2 class, which can compete in two categories: WRC2 (factory and professional private teams) and WRC3 for the rest of the private teams. While they retain the all-wheel-drive and 1.6-litre turbocharged engine, they have mechanical front and rear differentials and no centre differential as Rally 1 cars do. The engines are limited using 32 mm restrictor, so the power output doesn’t exceed 300 horsepower.

Rally 3: The home for the FIA’s all-new, low-cost four-wheel drive car. The intention is to make this a current R2 car with a rear differential. Crucial to this new class is the cost of the car, which the FIA says has to be under €100,000. This will offer drivers and teams the chance to enjoy four-wheel drive, while offering a cost-effective solution to the next generation chasing experience beyond front-wheel drive.

Rally 4: The successor to the R2 class, powered by a turbocharged three-cylinder engine, front-wheel drive, sequential gearbox (six-speed) and up to 200HP. Cars can also have limited-slip differential and hydraulic handbrake.

Rally 5: The entry, most affordable group. Cars need to be front-wheel driven with three-cylinder engines and no turbocharging. Maximal engine displacement is limited to 1.4 litres and approx. 150HP. Sequential gearbox and rally suspension is allowed.
Further Information

Further Information

To learn more about the FIA Rally Pyramid, contact Motorsport Ireland at or +353 (0) 1  677 5628.

Keep up with Motorsport Ireland News: Become a MI-Member

Sign-up as a MI-Member to subscribe to our mailing list and get the latest news, updates and exclusive offers from Motorsport Ireland.

For information on how we use your data, view our Data Protection Policy.